Resist

RESIST  :  One Girl’s Fight Back Against the Nazis OUT 4 AUGUST 2022

I am delighted to announce that my next children’s story shines a light on the incredible work of the WWll Dutch resistance, in a story inspired by the childhood of Hollywood legend Audrey Hepburn.

As the brutal Second World War stretches on with no end in sight, life for ordinary Dutch people in the Nazi-occupied Netherlands is fraught with peril and hardship. There is very little to eat and the population lives under the constant threat of arrest and enslavement.

After the murder of her beloved uncle and the capture of her brother by the Germans, Edda is determined to do anything she can to help the resistance fight back against their oppressors. But what can a teenage girl do and how much risk is she willing to take?

Published by Barrington Stoke.

Written for 9+ children.

“It’s hard to read Resist without thinking of the war in Ukraine. The descriptions of hiding in cellars, the devastation and the starvation are vivid. There were several times when I was choked up with emotions.  Another gem for children’s historical fiction.” Dr Laura Ovenden   @OvendenLaura

Press Release here

Coming 4 August 2022 to your local library, local independent bookshop, WaterstonesAmazon and Kindle. Overseas : FREE Delivery worldwide from The Book Depository.  

PRE-ORDER Now! Signed and dedicated copies personalised to order from my local independent children’s bookshop “The Thoughtful Spot” here.

“In this heart-rending and immersive novel, Tom captures the horror of living under Nazi rule during some of the darkest days of the Second World War, but also shows us how powerful is the human will to survive and the determination to stand up to evil and oppression. This incredible story of courage and endurance is all the more remarkable for being told from the point of view of a teenage girl who found the will to fight back even when brought to the brink of starvation. It is a feat of storytelling with an impact that lasts long after you have turned the final page.” Ailsa Bathgate 

Read Chapter 1 coming soon

“I’ve written a lot about the Second World War and have always been fascinated by stories of resistance – of ordinary people finding the courage to stand up to the Nazis who invaded and took over their homes, causing so much misery and hardship. It was such a brave thing to do and when I read about Audrey Hepburn’s work for the Dutch resistance when she was a teenager, I knew it was a story I had to explore further in order to share this inspiring aspect of the war with children today.” Tom Palmer

Resist is inspired by the real-life experiences of Hollywood legend Audrey Hepburn, who began working for the Dutch resistance during her teenage years spent trapped in the Nazi-occupied
Netherlands. Drawing from biographies and the numerous interviews that Audrey gave throughout her career, Tom chronicles the astounding story of her courageous missions for the resistance, from delivering newsletters to performing in illegal concerts to raise money for others to flee the country. Resist paints a powerful picture of life in the Netherlands during WWll, at a time where families were torn apart and resources and food commandeered, leaving millions on the brink of starvation.

To sign up for updates and a preview of the first chapter please complete the contact form below. Our replies are not automated so you will shortly get a personal reply.  See T&Cs. 

Resources

Chapter 1 coming soon

Cover prediction worksheet here

 

 

Playscript coming soon

 

Resistance newsletter – includes an original recipe for Nettle Soup from the “Hunger Winter” of 1944-45 coming September

 

Multi-media resource pack coming soon

Launch Day Plans – coming soon

Friday 16th September
Schools launch virtual event with Mr Dilly

Booking and more details coming soon.

Films at the settings – coming soon

Researching Resist – coming soon

Writing Resist

Writer’s Scrapbook.  Alongside my research, I made a scrapbook of maps, images and quotes from Audrey Hepburn that I used to inspire my writing of Resist.  This is something I will  show pupils and talk about the process of writing in my school visits.

Please wait while flipbook is loading. For more related info, FAQs and issues please refer to DearFlip WordPress Flipbook Plugin Help documentation.

Resist Q&A – coming soon

 

Early Reviews

“Tom Palmer has written another excellent historical novel; tense and gripping with each page fraught with danger. The reader is drawn into Edda’s world of curfews, roadblocks and the constant gnawing hunger that occupies her thoughts.  Each time it seems as though the villager’s hopes are raised for an ending to the war, they are dashed and you are left wondering how long can Edda maintain her strength and spirit.  Accessible and ideal for MG readers, this is a must-have for any school library.”  Barbara Band

“It’s hard to read Resist without thinking of the war in Ukraine. The descriptions of hiding in cellars, the devastation and the starvation are vivid. There were several times when I was choked up with emotions.  Another gem for children’s historical fiction.” Dr Laura Ovenden   @OvendenLaura

“What an incredible story of one family’s struggle to survive during the German occupation of the Netherlands during WWII. I need some time to let it sink in. A masterpiece. It’s made me realise how many war stories have a male main character. Edda is as strong and brave as any boy. I can’t wait for my own ballerina to read it.” @KateHeap1 Kate Heap: Scope for Imagination

“Once again Tom has brought events from WW2 alive and ensured that another piece of history will not be forgotten. A tremendous 5 star read Tom.  This is just superb. Another first rate tale. The research you put into your books just sings from the pages. It is sensational.” @Valda_Varadinek

“Started this last night, love it so far, that first chapter had me hold my breath!” @TeachEnglishLit

“my most anticipated book this year!”Jennie Edspire @Edspire

“Sure to be another absolutely stellar read!”  @HeathBooks

“Another triumph from @tompalmerauthor and @BarringtonStoke. Resist tells the story of an extraordinary girl as she holds on and fights for everything (and everyone) she loves and believes in during WW2.” (Miss Byrne) @OLQPBookClub

“FINISHED: well, I’m finished, and emotionally spent. @tompalmerauthor just writes the most amazing families, stories and people. I loved #Resist. Edda is the bravest and kindest. She’s standing up for people despite being afraid. This was tough to read at times, but incredible.” Steph alittlebutalot @eenalol

“Tom’s historical fiction is always a compelling and moving read and Resist sounds like something special.”   Anne Thompson  @Alibrarylady Full review here

“Another triumph from [Tom Palmer]. Full of history, heroism, and heart”
DAN SMITH, AUTHOR

“Resist is extensively researched and superbly written, telling the story of the brave Dutch resistance. It’s another essential Tom Palmer masterpiece”  JON BIDDLE, TEACHER

“Resist is history brought to life … A remarkable story told well and also told with understanding and care of the people involved”  ANNE THOMPSON, ‘LIBRARY LADY’

“Tom Palmer is the master of accessible historical fiction … A heart-wrenching story of strength, courage and sacrifice”  KATE HEAP, ‘SCOPE FOR THE IMAGINATION’

“I think this is [Tom Palmer’s] most powerful story yet, it pulled on every emotion … Perfect for fans of Goodnight Mr. Tom, War Horse and of course all of Tom’s other historical stories” EMMA SUFFIELD, LIBRARIAN

“This is historical fiction at its best … The novel ‘speaks true to me’ [as a former resident of Arnhem] and shows evidence of meticulous research … Palmer is a genius at using crisp, clear language to create vivid scenes and evoke tension”  ALICE VISSER-FURAY, TEACHER

“As always with Tom’s novels, you feel you are watching through a window to the past” NETGALLEY REVIEW

“A fast-paced, gripping and powerful little novel … It would make a great book to study in the classroom”  NETGALLEY REVIEW (TEACHER)

“A fantastic war time read … I fell in love with the characters” – NETGALLEY REVIEW, LIBRARIAN

“Another gem for children’s historical fiction” DR LAURA OVENDEN, TEACHER

“Tom Palmer is without a doubt the Master of historical fiction for children. He knows how to engage the audience and in Resist he works his magic once again. The fear that our protagonist Edda feels is palpable; the sense of foreboding stalks the pages … A triumphant 5 star read”  NETGALLEY REVIEW, TEACHER

“Lump in throat, heart in mouth, tears brimming moments!”  NETGALLEY REVIEW, TEACHER

“[Tom Palmer] deserves every accolade bestowed” NETGALLEY REVIEW, LIBRARIAN

“There are many books about WWll, but I feel like this one gives an interesting perspective. I definitely would have loved this novel as a tween/teen and I really enjoyed reading it now as a young adult … Fast-paced, compelling and very touching” NETGALLEY REVIEW

“Full of such rich descriptions and vivid imagery … I could have jumped into the pages myself … I have read many books set during World War Two and this is one of the best I have read” NETGALLEY REVIEW

“Heartbreaking and uplifting at the same time …. Educating and entertaining in a way only Palmer can” NETGALLEY REVIEW

 

Find out more

For more about what I am currently up to, follow my tweets or tweet me @tompalmerauthor 

Sign up here for my newsletter for readers, teachers and librarians with exclusive extracts from forthcoming books, new resources, etc.

More about all my other books for children here

Buy Books

PRE-ORDER Now! Signed and dedicated copies personalised to order from my local independent children’s bookshop “The Thoughtful Spot” here.

Visit my Amazon bookshop  or support your local bookshop HIVE

Overseas : FREE Delivery worldwide from The Book Depository.

Schools bumper book pack and class set offers here.

Email me here for more information or use my contact form here to ask me a question.

Thank you.

PRIVACY & COOKIES POLICY                            TERMS & CONDITIONS

%d bloggers like this: